Picture
I have been trying to write this blog post for a week now.  I can never find the right words to express what I want to say.  As much as I'd like to share the details of my recent experiences and unload the thoughts on my mind, I think I need to keep this post brief.  

An amazing person and friend of mine passed away on April 6, 2011.  My brother, her best friend, and her family were there to hold her hand until the end.  I wish you could have all known Marisa.  Those of us who did, no matter how close we were to her, count ourselves blessed.  Blessed to have known such a strong woman who was full of light, laughter, and love.  

Marisa was born with Cystic Fibrosis.  At an early age she was told she wouldn't live past 17, with advancements in treatments and medication, she surpassed that to live until shortly after her 33rd birthday.  She literally fought for her life everyday.  You can learn more about her challenges here and possibly get a glimpse of the sweet, and determined person she was.  

The Cystic Fibrosis Foundation hosts a nationwide walk every year.  I will be joining my brother, and many others, on the walk in Tempe on May 22.  As "Team Marisa & Wellesley" we are trying to raise more than $4,500 in honor of Marisa, and her sister who also had CF and passed away in 2001.

I have been so touched by the donations that have come in from friends and family, and especially of total strangers.  I am humbled by everyone's generosity.  My personal goal is to raise $500.  I am not so concerned with the dollar amount raised.  My purpose in raising money is to honor Marisa & Wellesley.  No amount is too small!  And if you are not able to spare any change, and want to help, then please spread the word to your family and friends via email, FB, or blog and encourage them to donate to a very important cause.

You can donate on my page by clicking here.

Or for added incentive.  My sister has created 10 printables available for download of inspiring quotes.  You may download them for free to be printed for your own use or as meaningful gifts, and then please follow the links to donate.  Go here to see her first post, and then click to see the newer posts if you wish to download any or all of the images.

Thank you so much for taking the time to read this and thank you in advance for helping a cause that is meaningful to me.

Picture
4/20/2011 10:45:55 am

Hey Kristen,
Just wanted to let you know I appreciate the links and everything you put here. I was able to go to SprikSpace and click her links and I am so, so sorry. It's one thing to hear the facts: that a person is struggling or has struggled, etc. It's another to get a glimpse into who they are, etc. I read the articles, watched the tribute video and the Front Row Foundation video,...my heart aches for you and all of those who actually knew, loved and cared for her. Just from the glimpses I caught, I can tell she was a very beautiful, amazing person who touched a lot of lives. As I told you before, I will donate what I can and repost the links on my facebook page and blog. Hugs to you!!

Reply



Leave a Reply.