Not so recently (like December 2009??) my sister so generously acquired and shared all the materials necessary to make some really cute ABC books.  I FINALLY got around to completing mine last month, but have yet to let the kids touch it before I can maximize its durability (I almost wrote "durabilitalize it" for those of you who know about me and my suffixes ;-) haha)
Picture
As you can see from this photo, there is a lot of bumpy action going on.  What you may not be able to see is that the chipboard cover/back cover is covered in paper.  That means dirty finger prints, tears, and marks are inevitable.  The inside pages are a card-like thickness (thicker than cardstock) and has chipboard little figures too, so those are not flat surfaces either.  I've been to two places to try to get them laminated but everyone tells me even the inside pages are too thick.  What do I dooooo???  I don't think self-adhesive lamination would come close to looking good, or be as durable.  If anyone out there has any advice or some home remedy, it would be much appreciated.  Short of having my girls wear plastic gloves, haha...I don't know what else to do.  Probably just suck it up and figure this book will get trashed, but hopefully enjoyed as long as it lasts.... sigh....

8/4/2010 07:19:51 am

I think the only thing you can do is Contact paper...
Glad yours is done - now you can finish mine!!

Reply
8/6/2010 07:19:41 am

what about painting it with mod-podge?

Reply



Leave a Reply.