I've had this recipe for a while, and it was probably last fall that I received it, likely from my sis who emails me 15 recipes a day as though I'm actually an avid cook/baker....yeah not so much.  But this one sounded muy yummo and I made it and it was DELISH!  **I adhered to the "Karen's notes" modifications.  One pan works well, you just have to bake closer to the 50 min mark, depending on your oven I suppose.  You can also do a little more of the topping if you prefer, it ends up baking down in the top, not really a crumbily topping like I imagined.  And I added a little extra pumpkin, cuz I knew I wouldn't have anything else to use it for and I wanted it to taste "pumpkin-y"  I don't know if it really made a difference.  Or I guess you could make 2 cakes!  I also used fat-free sour cream cuz that's what I had.  I doubt it makes a difference and you still have a stick of butter in there.

Let me know if you try it and what you think!!

PUMPKIN COFFEE CAKE 
TOPPING INGREDIENTS: 
- 1/4 cup packed brown sugar 
- 1/4 cup sugar 
- 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon 
- 2 tablespoons cold butter or margarine 
- 1/2 cup chopped pecans 
CAKE INGREDIENTS: 
- 1/2 cup butter or margarine, softened 
- 1 cup sugar 
- 2 eggs 
- 1 cup sour cream 
- 1/2 cup canned or cooked pumpkin 
- 1 teaspoon vanilla extract 
- 2 cups all-purpose flour 
- 1 teaspoon baking soda 
- 1 teaspoon baking powder 
- 1/2 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice 
- 1/4 teaspoon salt 
 
DIRECTIONS: 
In a small bowl, combine sugars and cinnamon. Cut in the butter until mixture resembles coarse crumbs. Stir in pecans; set aside. In a mixing bowl, cream butter and sugar. Add eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition. Combine the sour cream, pumpkin and vanilla; mix well. Combine dry ingredients; add to creamed mixture alternately with sour cream mixture. Beat on low just until blended. Spread the batter into two greased and floured 8-in. round cake pans. Sprinkle with topping. Bake at 325 degrees F for 40-50 minutes or until a toothpick inserted near the center comes out clean. 
 
KAREN'S NOTES: 
I used a mixture of cloves, cinnamon, ginger and nutmeg for the pumpkin spice and skipped the nuts for you :-). I also used one pan instead of two and I think the thickness was perfect.



9/24/2009 02:33:53 pm

Don't be ungrateful... you'd be sad if I didn't send you those recipes! And, you wouldn't have been able to make this! :P

Reply
9/28/2009 09:17:19 am

YEAH! I LOVE to bake and make yummy treats and this sounds yummy~ Thanks for posting it...and thanks to your sis for sharing it with you so you could share with me. YIPPIE!

Reply
11/28/2010 10:19:25 am

New week start, the skyhawks are cool, we need some useful idea , this blog is so useful, nice.

Reply



Leave a Reply.