The real countdown has begun and boy am I feeling it!  I am soooo glad it's not summer yet, cuz the hot flashes would be unbearable.  Well they aren't so much flashes as permanent heat lamps always shining on me.  I am also experiencing the swelling in ankles, feet, and hands.  It's probably only noticeable to me, but it's rather annoying when it comes to attempted removal of the wedding ring at night.  I might have to leave it on before I won't even be able to get it on at all.  I really can't stand or walk more than 10 minutes without my feet killing me not to mention the other aches and pains associated with my girth.  Basically I'm just REALLY feeling the effects of this load I'm carrying and am REALLY looking forward to not being pregnant.

However, that being said, I do have to say for the record that overall I have enjoyed the experience of being pregnant and can only hope that future pregnancies will go as smoothly.  I think the whole experience is a miracle and when you feel the baby inside of you, it's truly amazing to think what a woman's body can endure.  I haven't had any real complications or major things I can complain about (but when you're pregnant there's always SOMETHING though right?) and even though these last few weeks will be the hardest part (well it's a toss up compared to the first few months of nausea and gagging...) I now have the end goal in sight and can't wait for Madelyn to get here!   More than a few people have made the comment, men mostly, so what do they know...haha...jk.  That the last month is the most uncomfortable so that you feel more willing to experience the labor.  I agree with that, however I am not anymore anxious to go through it, I just know it has to happen so I'd rather get it over with and have our baby here.  Dan may even be more eager than I am!

Two weeks ago at a dr. appointment a nurse was checking on things and told me I was 50% effaced and 1cm dialated.  She said it would be interesting to see if I go to term and if I do I'll likely have a fairly quick delivery since I'm half way there, effacement-wise.  That got Dan and I excited to think she could be coming any day.  Well last Monday at my first of the weekly appointments I had one of the Drs. and she said that she didn't see any signs that I could deliver early.  She said 1st pregnancies usually go to term or later.  Uuuuuuggggghhhh....  Well I guess we will just be surprised then.  16 days and counting!!

Belly shots to come...  For now I'll share some photos from my other baby shower that my wonderful friend with whom I work with in YW organized.  It was held on March 1st.  The guest list included all the YW and their mothers, and other friends I have in the ward.  It was such a fun party and everyone loved ooo-ing and aahh-ing over all the cute stuff Madelyn got!  This girl has been so spoiled!  I hope we get to stay in the ward long enough for Madelyn to get bigger and get to know some of the great YW and adults that we have in our ward family.

Brittney
3/24/2008 04:40:30 am

You poor girl! I can't even imagine how you are feeling! I remember my feet, back, everything killing me and I delivered 5 weeks before the point you are at now so you must REALLY be feeling it! She will be here soon though and it will all be worth it! I promise!
The shower was lots of fun!
Keep us posted on what is up with that baby!

Reply



Leave a Reply.