So how I'm feeling is not nearly as important as what happened yesterday...  I had a doctor's appointment and I knew I'd be hearing the hearbeat.  I really wanted Dan there, but since he just started a new job (more details to come in the regular blog), and it's way far out west, it wasn't very feasible for him to be there.  Feeling like it was too momentous of an event to go alone, I asked my mom to drive down from Scottsdale to go with me.

It was such a cool experience!  I didn't cry or anything, I was more in awe and just happy and relieved that there really was a baby alive inside me!  The nurse said it was a strong heartbeat at 155bpm and everything sounded great.  She said to feel reassured because when they hear a heartbeat like that the chances for miscarriage drop by 85%!  Woohoo!  Not that I had reason to think I might miscarry, I'm just paranoid like that and since I'm new to this whole pregnancy thing, I just worry about a lot of things.

Now the REALLY great part happened next and hopefully Dan isn't reading this because I wanted to surprise him with it for his birthday celebration tonight...  So the nurse was telling me that in 5 weeks I'd have an ultrasound done, which I knew and Dan is planning to come.  She told my mom she was welcome to come too, and when I said she lives in Scottsdale and it might be tough for her to come, the nurse said, well do you want to do one now??  My mom and I looked at each other like...ummmm...are you serious??  And since we have a lapse in our insurance coverage this month, anything extra is paid out of pocket, so I had to ask if we would be charged.  The nurse said, oh no, we'll just do it for fun.  Well okay then!!  So ohhhh my goodness, talk about the most amazing experience I've had since I've been pregnant!  (ya know, cuz it's been all gagging and pukey feelings all the time, not really a thrill...)  I know it's going to be such a cooler experience when Dan gets to go with me in 5 weeks, #1 cuz he'll get to witness our baby alive and well on screen, and we'll be together seeing it, and #2 he'll finally be able to hopefully feel a little more connected to this whole experience of pregnancy plus our baby will be bigger and we'll be able to see more.  The pictures she took really don't show much, the live show is much better.

So we just watched the baby wriggling and squirming around, legs moving all over, you could see the outline of the ribs, and he or she is just all crammed in there, it was so incredible.  This was just doubly reassuring to know the baby is alive in there and doing well!  PHEW!  I recorded the heartbeat on tape too as another surprise for Dan.  Now that I think about it, I guess I won't post this page until tomorrow.  Don't want to risk Dan seeing it!  Okay, signing off for now!  Mommy and baby and Daddy are doing well!!  More to come!




Leave a Reply.