Last weekend Dan and I decided to go camping.  It was a lot of fun believe it or not!  Unfortunately we didn't arrive to the camp site until it was dark, which I hate because I like to get a visual of my surroundings, plus we had to set up the tent in the dark.  The first time we went camping was last year in Oracle and it was rainy and cold when we got there yet we still managed to get the tent up and have hot dogs and s'mores before trying to warm up in our sleeping bags.  Unfortunately it rained into the night and froze to the tent, neither of us slept well even in mummy sleeping bags and sharing a twin air mattress.  The next day in Oracle we had gone cave exploring (I forget the name of them).  Which was freaky cuz we were totally alone, I broke one of the flashlights on my way down a ladder, and we got lost trying to get out.  What an adventure!

So this time was much more relaxed.  It only got into the 40-50s and with earplugs I slept great!  The only downside is we had some noisy neighbors.  Oh, and no plumbing...just a "vault" as they call it....Let's just say I made Dan go with me at night, I didn't drink a drop for the last couple hours before we went to sleep, and every time I had to go  (which was luckily only 3 times surprisingly) I had to suck on a candy so I wouldn't gag uncontrollably.  In the morning we stayed cozy in our tent for a little while as we ate some breakfast (chocolate covered donuts...Dan's "must have" camping ritual) and then packed up and drove to this trail that led to some Indian ruins - Sears-Kay Ruins.
Here's another site.

It was about a mile loop to see the ruins, nothing TOO spectacular, but cool to imagine Indians living in those surroundings and wonder what life was like.  Not to mention the weather was perfect and made the whole experience very enjoyable.  Here are some pictures of the trip! 

We got this cool tent from Dan's parents last Christmas and I made Dan stick his head out of the "doggy door" cuz I think it's funny....hahaha!  Guess you had to be there...


10/18/2007 05:19:22 am

HOW fun! Have I told you enough how jelous I am that you guys go camping? I am glad this time was much better...and warmer. I LOVE the doggy door pic! And do I dare say, it looks like you are "showing". Fun fun fun! Thanks for sharing your adventures with us who don't get out much.

Reply
Kristen
10/18/2007 05:52:14 am

Well we don't get out TOO much anymore as you know... But we still will make that a goal for life! Camping can't really be considered "getting out" though, I mean literally yes, but it's really not much to write home about... Holy cow, I think I'm ballooning, at least that's how it feels if I try to sit upright for too long and it's only going to get worse...ughhh. Check out Blog Jr. for the picture to confirm your speculations!

Reply
10/19/2007 05:03:19 am

I checked it out. You have a cute little tummy growing! How fun! (Well, for me..i guess more frustrating for you at this point!) Can't wait to see the sonogram photo in 3 weeks (minus 1 day).

Reply



Leave a Reply.