My sister was 27 weeks pregnant...yesterday.  Today she is the shocked, tired, recovering, worried mother of baby boy Sprik (I won't share his name so the new parents can be the first to announce it to the web world...)

Last Saturday (the 6th) she went to the hospital after spotting and later began contracting and dilating.  After several ups and downs in the hospital, Saturday the 13th she was finally released to go home on pretty strict bed rest.  Thankful to have my mom with her (she flew to Chicago last Thursday) and to be back in her own home, things were looking up.  However, last night my dad told me that Aimee was having a c-section within the half hour.  yikes.  I can't even tell you the flood of emotion I was experiencing, my family was experiencing, not to mention Aimee and Brian.  Not long after, 9:43pm to be exact, Sprik Sprout was born - 2lbs 6oz. 

He started breathing on his own, even let out a cry!  Yay!  His heartbeat is strong! Double yay!  He's kicking and moving!  Hip Hip Hooray!  All wonderful, positive, and miraculous things.

But there is still a long road ahead of him, how long we don't know.  Tuesday Doctors will assess the situation and give them a better idea.  I can't even imagine how my sister must be feeling.  To have waited so long to get pregnant, finally having success, and then to get your baby a lot sooner than expected, and not being able to hold him and take him home.  I was able to talk with her briefly last night, despite her weak and drugged state, and she said they are feeling very lucky so far.  I pray that luck continues. 

I know there are many cases out there that you or someone you know has experienced that are similar to this.  What can be expected in the weeks and months ahead?  Tell me any information you can and also all of the positive and successful stories you know and I'd love to pass that along to my sister.  If you have no experience with premature babies but want to share some words of encouragement, I'm sure that can go a long way, even if you're strangers to her.  And as always, prayers never hurt.

I imagine Aimee will eventually be posting updates on her blog if you care to stay posted, or email me.  Or just check out her blog from time to time, she often has great little tips and ideas.

Brittney
12/17/2008 05:31:03 am

Oh goodness! That picture brings back so many memories of when Brynlie was early. I feel for your sister and husband. I thought it was so overwhelming and scary to hold a 4 lb. baby. I cannot even imagine one that tiny. I am so glad he is breathing on this own and everything though. That is such a blessing! Especially for a boy!
Modern medicine is truly amazing and most preemie babies I know these days have grown up to be happy, healthy kids! It is a long, frustrating road at first when you are trying to teach them to eat, etc... but when they finally get to take him home it will all be worth it! Our thoughts and prayers are with them.
Britt
p.s. tell your sister... it is totally okay to become a germ freak and totally normal to want to drop her breast pump off the top of the hospital.... all normal....:)

Reply
Debbie MacKinlay
12/18/2008 12:47:04 am

Baby Connor is little, but he looks like a fighter to me. When I got the news about his early birth I called Ginny to tell her about it. She said that when she worked for Foundation of the Blind as a early childhood interventionist , that there was a general consensus that for whatever reason, babies born between 26 and 30 weeks often did better than those born between 30 and 33 weeks. It doesn't really make sense, but they saw it again and again. So Connor has that going for him, as well as a Mom and Dad who love him dearly and a great network of extended family and friends who love him and are praying for him.
I happily admit that I dearly love all babies. For some reason that I cannot explain I have felt really connected to Connor and feel that he is a very special baby. Please tell Aimee and Brian that we are praying for them, and that we're looking forward to the happy day when the 3 of them are home together! :) Debbie

Reply
12/20/2008 10:06:06 am

Thanks for the sweet post, Kris.

Thanks also to Brittney and Debbie for the kind comments... did a lot to boost my spirits!

His birth story is now posted on http://sprik.blogspot.com.

Reply
12/22/2008 05:24:30 am

It's so amazing that he is breathing on his own and has a strong heartbeat. We continue to pray for your sister and family. All the stories of premies I know, they have come out just fine in the end, but it has been a long road. Maybe if Aimee has some sort of project she can work on while the baby's in the hospital for the baby or some big life goal she can work on to keep her occupied and to see a light at the end of the tunnel.

Reply



Leave a Reply.